NHL Awards

UHS Coach Nye Looks at NHL Awards

As the shorter NHL season is coming to a close and teams start to prepare for the ‘Big Dance’ we also need to dust off the ‘ol Crystal Ball and revisit the NHL Awards and Finalists. Though we will have to go through the playoffs it will be very shortly after the season ends the NHL will hand out the hardware to it’s elite performers. All these trophies are steep in rich tradition and UHS would like to go through each one and put our prediction to each. It doesn’t stop there as at the end we want all of our Fans to ‘Chime’ in on their own predictions of these great awards but also let’s hear who you think  will win the ‘ BIG ONE’ the trophies of all trophies, the one and only ‘ Lord Stanley Cup ‘

So let’s get it going, starting off with:

Hart Trophy

Hart Memorial Trophy 

MVP-most valuable player to his team and is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers Association in all NHL cities.

The original trophy was donated to the NHL in 1923 by Dr. A. Hart whose father Cecil Hart was the manager-coach of the Montreal Canadiens.

Since the award was started in 1924 and the winner being Frank Nighbor of the Montreal Canadiens these very same Canadiens have won the award 16 times, while the ‘Great One’ Wayne Gretzky has won it for a record 9 times , eight of those in consecutive years.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Sidney Crosby



Venzina Trophy

Vezina Trophy

The annual award goes to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.

In memory of the great George Vezina of the Montreal Canadiens, who collapsed during an NHL game Nov, 28 1925 and died of Tuberculosis a few months later. Another outstander ‘Tender of the Twines’ was Jacques Plante who holds the record for winning the most Vezinas with 7 and again with the Montreal Canadiens. Now it would seem that all great goalies come from the Canadiens organization as this franchise has won it 28 times, unbelievable.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Sergei Bobrovsky



Norris Trophy

James Norris Memorial Trophy

Awarded to the best all round defense player throughout the season and voted upon by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

The late James Norris, former owner-president of the Detroit Red Wings and his family donated the trophy to the NHL in 1953 and from the time of 1968 to 1975 the one and only #4 Bobby Orr had won the award 8 straight times, one more than Doug Harvey of the Montreal Canadiens.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Kris Letang




Lady Byng Trophy

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. Again the award is voted on by the Professional Writers Association at the end of the season.

Lady Byng, wife of the Governor-General at the time, presented the Lady Byng trophy in 1925 and the winner of the very first time was Frank Nighbor of the Ottawa Senators. Not the Canadiens but the New York Rangers have been the dominate winner as Frank Boucher won the prize 7 times in eight seasons and after the winning it so much he was given the original trophy and Lady Byng donated another one in 1936.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Patrick Kane



Calder Trophy

Calder Memorial Trophy

This award is given out to the player in his first year of the NHL who demonstrates his ability to be the most proficient in all competition. The ‘Rookie of the Year’ award has some restrictions as a player cannot have played more than 25 games in any single preceding season nor in six or more in each of any two preceding seasons in any major professional league. And the player must not be older than 26 years before September 15 of the season in which he is eligible.

From 1936-37 until his death in 1943, Frank Calder, NHL President would buy a trophy each year to be given permanently to the outstanding rookie.

One of the interesting history lessons from this award is that in the season of 1979-80 , first-year phenom Wayne Gretzky was not eligible to win the Calder Trophy despite scoring 137 points because he had played a full season the previous year in the WHL.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Brendan Gallagher


Frank Selke Trophy

Frank J. Selke Trophy

This award is given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

Some have said the awards name should be changed to the Bob Gainey Award as the once best defensive forward had won the award 4 times and as one coach had said in a interview one time, that Bob Gainey was the best all round player of all time!

The award was named after Mr. Selke at the end of the 1977-78 season and has been presented each year after, select by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Jonathon Toews



Jack Adams Trophy

Jack Adams Award

Awarded to the top coach in the NHL voted upon by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association.

Jack Adams was a former coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings and in 1974 the trophy was made to be giving to a head coach of a NHL club for displaying leadership and dedication to his team and to the game, just as Mr. Adams had done.

A little known fact is there has been only one coach to win this award in consecutive years and that being Jacques Demers while 4 coaches have won the award 2 times but with different teams, they are Scotty Bowman, Pat Quinn, Jacque Lemaire and the late Pat Burns.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Paul MacLean


Bill Masterton Trophy

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

This award is given to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Some of the great winners of the past include, Teemu Selanne, Pat LaFontaine, Lanny MacDonald and Jean Ratelle.

The trophy is in dedication to the late William Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited to a high degree, perseverance, sportsmanship and his dedication to hockey. Mr. Masterton died on Jan. 15 1968, after an injury sustained during a hockey game.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Jeffrey Lupul



Ted Lindsay Trophy

Ted Lindsay Award – Formerly Lester B. Pearson Award

The “The Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the NHL Players Association.

At the conclusion of the 1971-72 season the award was developed in honor of Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward who showed great leadership, skill, tenacity and his role in establishing the NHLPA.

This award sometimes goes hand-in-hand with the winner of the Hart Memorial Trophy as over the years several players have won both, players including, Wayne Gretzky, Guy Lafleur, Mario Lemieux, Mark Messier and Joe Sakic.

Coach Nye’s Pick 2013 – Sidney Crosby


So there you have UHS Coach Nye’s picks for the 2013. Though the season has been shorten, we still see where all of the players through the NHL are the what we call the ‘Best in the World’

Now don’t be shy here, send in your picks as well and if there is someone who picks them all correct they will win a brand NEW

Reebok 20K Senior Composite Hockey Stick


Reebok Hockey


What a great prize to win, so make sure you send those picks into the UltimateHockeySource.com   or email us at  info@ultimatehockeysource.com   to submit your picks. Do it quick as they will be tons to go through. Once the NHL Awards have been announced then UHS will announce their winner as well.!




Until next time.

See you after the game,

Coach Nye